Tags

, , , , ,

David Lebovitz is the only man who consistently gives me what I want.

Have you heard of him? He is this wonderful man who was a pastry chef in California but then moved to Paris and blogs about making macarons and Pierre Hermes and  Persimmon bread and life in Paris. And goes to truffle markets?! How does one even find that?

To be quite blunt, he does everything that I do (or want to do) but much, much better. And in Paris.

Anyways, I used his recipe to make chocolate chip cookies and they were the best cookies that I have ever had and now I am feeling a little bit bitter.

 

Recipe adapted from here which adapted it from here.

The Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (100 grams) granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup (120 grams) firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) (115 grams) unsalted butter, cold, cut into 1/2-inch (1cm) pieces
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/4 cups (175 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups (200 grams) semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup(130 grams) walnuts or pecans, toasted and chopped (in fact, I did not use nuts. Nuts are expensive.)

The Process

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F and line three baking sheets with parchment paper.

This is where it got a little tricky for me. The recipe says “Beat the sugars and butters together until smooth.” Have you guys seen my stand-up mixer, the Sunbeam Model 11, circa 1956? It has one attachment and no correct bowls (for now). Hence, what I thought the recipe said was “Slightly melt the butter and whisk everything together.”

 

After all that, I added the egg, vanilla and baking soda. Then mixed together the salt and flour and threw that in.

It was all quite simple actually. This recipe isn’t particularly special when it comes to chocolate chip cookie recipes. They all require some variation of these things and to be honest, most are more extravagant involving coconut and oats and such.

So what then made these cookies so delicious?

Let us look for a minute at cookie dough to chocolate chip ratio. Most cookies, for an amount of dough of this size, would recommend less than a cup of chocolate chips! Cookies like these, and these, and well, these.

“Fuck that”, says David (In my head). “I live in France and it is already noon and I have barely had my first glass of champagne. 1.5 cups of chocolate chips! And why not? Le plus grand faible des hommes, c’est l’amour qu’ils ont de la vie.”

And so it goes….. 1.5 cups of chocolate chips to 1.25 cups of flour make the best cookies that I have ever tasted.

Bake 18 minutes and enjoy.