Tags

, , , ,

I have been extremely busy lately. Firstly, I am moving to the other side of the country in exactly 21 days. I am getting there, Camille in tow, via Kerouac-style road trip, couchsurfing my way across America. However, last week, I vacationed in my beautiful home town of Amelia Island and plan on spending an extended Easter holiday in the Smoky Mountains and hence, don’t have a whole lot of time left to pack. Also, I am starting a nonprofit. And working on my blog. And taking a volunteer class on game theory through the Standford Open Courses. And farming….

Oh, also I work full-time. I work in my dad’s office taking files out of shelves and then putting different files back into shelves. Sometimes, I move files to places other than shelves. But eventually, I take them back. However, because it is my dad’s office I also listen to audiobooks and dance and eat while moving the files. I learnt all about Mises in those shelves….. I can’t wait to start my real job.

Needless to say, what I really need is food that I can grab on the go. My mornings are normally completely booked with existential crisis and I always forget to eat. But I have found a solution.

Parts of this recipe came from 101 Cookbooks which is one of my favorite sources of inspiration as well as a constant go-to when things get complicated. Other parts came from memories that I have of making oatmeal muffins as a kid. At least I think that’s where they are from….

The Ingredients

Crumble topping:

  • 3/8 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats (do not used instant)
  • 1/4 cup natural cane or brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • 1/6 cup unsalted butter, melted

Muffin batter:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 7/8 cup unsalted butter, plus more for greasing pan
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups plain yogurt
  • 2 large eggs, whisked

The Process

Preheat oven 350 degrees F.

Butter one or two muffin pans, generously. I used mini muffin pans. Use a fork to combine the flour, oats, sugar, and salt in a bowl and then stir in the melted butter until the mixture is moist. Form into a couple of hamburger sized patties and place in the freezer for about 10 minutes until they are crumbly.

The Mix

Sift together the oats, flours, baking soda, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and sea salt. In a separate large bowl, mix together the butter, vanilla, yogurt and eggs. Then stir the dry ingredients into the wet. Be sure not to overmix.

Spoon the mixture into the muffin tin, filling each around 3/4 full (you will notice in the pictures that mine are fuller then that… it’s in my reckless nature). Take the crumble outside of the freezer and break it into pieces. Sprinkle a bit of it over each muffin.

Since I made mini muffins, I reduced the cooking time to 15 minutes. It is also worth noting that I have a mega oven and I always tend to need to lower temperatures / cooking times.

