Tags

, , , , ,

Last year I was sitting in Pizzeria Remo in Testaccio in Rome when my friend looked at me and said “Capricciosa?” “What is that?” I ask. “A pizza,” she clarifies, gesticulating in that way Italians do, “covered in many different things, who knows. A capricious pizza -it can’t make up its mind.”

“Hmm…” I confirmed but my mind had already wandered elsewhere. Capricious huh? I was familiar in the word in that I had heard elders close to me utter it in whispers when I was around but I wasn’t positive as to its meaning. I was positive that it was a brazen word for a pizza. I was immediately impressed with the intrepidity of the Capricciosa; the glaring non-conformity in the decision to choose neither traditional nor stable ingredients. Furthermore, I was jealous of the unabashed acceptance of this rogue, impetuous pizza especially in a culture steeped in tradition, superstition and social norms.

Then it hit me. Sitting there in the back of busy Remo, my friends chattering on in Italian, ignorant to my ephiphanous moment and becoming louder with each sip of vino: I had just been introduced to the thing most perfectly align to me in the entire world. My soul mate. And it was a pizza.

After that, I did a bit more research. If there has ever been a word that more adeptly describes my nature it would be capricious. Capricious defined: “Given to sudden and unaccountable changes of mood and behavior, impulsive, unpredictable…. whimsical.” Have we met?

There is no official recipe for Pizza Capricciosa. Change and variety is in both it’s nature and name. The most common ingredients include mozzarella, artichokes, prosciutto, hard-boiled egg, mushrooms and olives. I decided to add zucchini, onions, boiled potatoes and cherry tomatoes as well…. due to my capricious nature. The ingredients are not all piled on top of the pizza. Instead, each section of the pie boasts a different ingredient allowing you to try a bunch of things at once.

The Ingredients

  • Pizza Dough (This is my favorite recipe although not necessarily typical for Italian pizza)
  • prosciutto
  • Boiled Potatoes
  • Black Olives
  • Artichokes
  • Hard-boiled Egg
  • Anchovies
  • Mozzarella
  • Onions
  • Green Onion
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Mushrooms
  • Parsley

The Process

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Once the dough is ready, roll it out and cover with a layer of tomato sauce. I added about 1/2 cup of mozzarella to my pizza, because I am excessive, but you could probably deal with less.

I added my ingredients in sections so that each slice had a combination of delights but no one slice contained all ingredients. This is the normal arrangement. Afterwards, I topped with w bit more cheese, some drizzled olive oil and salt & pepper.

Bake for 20-25 minutes.

 

